PCOS and Pregnancy: Hormones are a Bitch

If you have PCOS, you already know that your hormones rule your life. They can turn you from a vivacious, friendly human being into an absolute nightmare for no good reason within 30 seconds flat and back again.

Not our fault, yes, but very hard to understand for those on the receiving end of an hormonal episode. The poor bastards.

Add pregnancy into the mix and you know as well as I do, that sometimes behaving like a normal human being is IMPOSSIBLE.  Sigh.

 

Spot the crazy person

Spot the crazy person

 

Hormones, PCOS or pregnancy or not, are not an excuse to throw things at people’s heads or say horrific things to them, you still have control over your basic motor functions. However they are an excuse to burst into tears because you left the house and forgot to put your shoes on…or your top on….or clothes in general. Or an excuse to say some things you didn’t mean and apologise for them later. We are human beings and therefore inherently flawed, and as long as we offer understanding and forgiveness to others around us, we are fully entitled to expect the same sort of treatment in return. Or else they will get a garbled, snotty person crying at them until they do forgive you. (Yes, I’ve been there).

It’s tough, yes, but making your entire pregnancy into a ‘hormonal pity party’ won’t help you manage your mood swings, in fact feeling guilty and shit all the time will contribute to the moodiness.

My mood swings have been…numerous and varied. Interesting and mildly terrifying. Poor Pablo.

What I find exceptionally hard to deal with is my increased loss of a grip on reality. While I am pretty laid back about a large number of things, the smaller number of things I am NOT laid back about have suddenly all reared their heads at the same time (seemingly).

You are crazay

You are crazay

Over the past 8 months I have managed to notice when I am becoming unreasonable and actually apologize mid-way through a lot of my mood swings explaining to people just how exhausted I am or how worried I am. I’m not sure if that helps me necessarily, but I like to think it helps the people around me logically determine why I have gone from ‘Happy Sarah’ to ‘Really Fucking Unhappy Sarah’.

It’s important that while your loved ones logically are aware that you are an irrational beast when you’re hormonal, you’re not a horrible person deep down. Unless you are…which is great, whatever, do what you want. So sitting down and having a friendly conversation about how you’re feeling and about how they are feeling can really help appease any underlying frustration.

Good luck, ladies. My hormones are hugging you. Then backing away because your hormones are probably going to bite them or something, you mental case.

my-hormones-hate-me

Love My Ovaries (and Me!)

 

Leave a Reply

